Lorazepam Love Affair

October 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

The title above has nothing to do with anything, so don’t worry about me.  A friend reminded me of a whirlwind prescription I had back in 2007 doled out by a particularly pill-happy psychiatric nurse I was seeing about anxiety attacks.  About three months of steadily increasing use and a raised-eyebrow (but respectful) inquiry of “You’re looking kind of… thin?” from my mother dashed all my hopes at a trendy pill habit.  It took about two weeks to readjust, but by that time it was Spring and I was living in Maine again after 6 years in hell, or… what some people south of here call Boston.  Boston is for visiting, people, not for living in.

Another phrase that struck me today was ‘tenement seagull’ when I was describing the bevy of birds that flock on the roofs of houses outside our door.  The neighbors leave cooked rice for them on their yard.  “Waste not, want not – but I want not to scrape seagull crap off of my windshield four days in a row.”

I did so much today!

Proudly:

Socks! So pretty.

The socks will be on sale in my Etsy shop shortly, and are made to order.  The ankle-high house socks will be $29 and the double-height high top socks are $34.  Each sock is made to fit your exact shoe size!  I’m also hoping I can make as many pairs of these before Christmas so that I don’t have to buy anyone anything.  Bah Humbug!  😉

Rattlesnacks

I love it when people put recipes on their blogs, especially when the food looks yummy.  These brownies are really yummy.  Here is the recipe:  take a box of brownie mix and follow the directions.  Then when you’re almost done just huck a bunch of Reese’s peanut butter chips in the mix and call it good.  I made mine in a teeny tiny muffin pan because it’s way cuter but maybe 10x as much work.  Ta-da!

I started a new pair of socks (the green yarn in the photograph above) and made brownies for when we go over to Brian and Tara’s (of the Rattlesnakes) house for a fire.  I also did a bunch of bottle cap work, watched three episodes of Carl Sagan’s Cosmos (studying up for my Halloween costume) and made chicken broth from straight chicken which is pretty damn delicious, if I do say so myself.  Jason went to that record sale and came back with Rolling Stones and Neil Young albums.  I love him.  I also did a bunch of dishes, took a shower for the first time in an embarrassing amount of days (hey!  Having a small business is like having a kid, y’know) and took photos of socks I’ve been meaning to take forever to put in my Etsy shop.

Amazingly, I have tomorrow off.

I love October.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lorazepam Love Affair at mise en place maine.

meta

